Free Kindle Books (Sunday, March 19)

Free today!

Murder on the Lake (Detective Inspector Skelgill Investigates Book 4), by Bruce Beckham. (Still free?)

“It is hard to find a series of books where you actually care about the characters, enough to want to read the next book. Though I have been to some of the places in the book, the descriptions are an integral part of the story. Characters with real sounding names, characters with real life problems and desires, hard to find in the log jam of current fiction. One of very few series I may read again in the future and still enjoy every page. Now how about another book in the series!” — Amazon Reviewer

BY THE TIME Detective Inspector Skelgill becomes the tenth person to be stranded on secluded Grisholm (Pigs’ Isle in Old Norse) where a writers’ retreat is taking place, one of the assembled literati is already dead.

Though natural causes seem to provide the explanation, a second apparently accidental death and a series of inexplicable experiences convince Skelgill that a cold and calculating killer is at large.

Set around Derwentwater in the English Lake District, this traditional whodunit sees Skelgill and his team striving to fathom a mystery that his superior officer suspects may be no more than his imagination at play.

258 pages, with a 4.0-star rating from 46 reviews.

            


 

Free today!

Squall, by Sean Costello. (Still free?)

“This is an interesting story about good and evil. The characters are well developed and believable. The ending is exciting.” — Amazon Reviewer

This book is RATED-R FOR LANGUAGE by the publisher.

Bush pilot and family man Tom Stokes is about to face the worst day of his life. On a clear winter morning, he sets out to do some repairs on a remote hunt camp, leaving his five-year-old son and very pregnant wife snug in their beds.

On the return trip, a squall forces him into an emergency landing and he winds up—quite literally—in the lap of petty criminal Dale Knight. Dale, now a fugitive from the law—and worse, from a merciless drug lord who just happens to be his brother—draws Tom into a web of mayhem and treachery that puts not only his life at risk, but the lives of his wife, son . . . and unborn child.

SQUALL is a fast-paced, darkly-comic tale of murder and gang-style retribution that grabs the reader on page one and just doesn’t let go.

178 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 2916 reviews.

            


 

Free today!

Reversion, by Amy Rogers. (Still free?)

“This is an absolutely awesome medical thriller. Being trapped in an experimental hospital by warring drug cartels Tessa Price,MD, struggles to save her fragile patient,Gunnar, while trying to save the hospital and herself. This marvelous novel races along and is a joy to read! I must read more by Amy Rogers” — Amazon Reviewer

Rabies kills. Can it also cure?

Dr. Tessa Price knows what it’s like to lose a child to a genetic disease. To spare another mother this pain, she invents a radical new gene therapy that might save the life of seven-year-old Gunnar Sigrunsson. Unable to get regulatory approval to treat Gunnar in the US, she takes her clinical trial to the Palacio Centro Medico, a resort-like hospital on a Mexican peninsula where rich medical tourists get experimental treatments that aren’t available anywhere else.

When the hospital is taken over by a brutal drug cartel, Tessa hides with a remarkable trio of Palacio clients—rich Texan Lyle Simmons, his much-younger Brazilian girlfriend, and his protection dog, a German shepherd named Dixie—only to learn that the gangsters aren’t the only deadly threat they face. A rabies-like infection that began in the Palacio’s research chimpanzees has spread to humans. Tessa investigates and finds a shocking connection to her gene therapy experiment. In the wake of this discovery, Tessa must weigh the value of one human life against another—including her own.

“A smart, tightly written, scary science thriller.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Rogers artfully blends science and suspense in this top-notch thriller. Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook novels will love this book.” – Brian Andrews, author of The Calypso Directive

“Reversion has everything I love about science thrillers: an exotic setting, a brilliant protagonist, a terrifying villain, and a story that takes readers on a wild ride across the frontiers of science. It’s a fun, frightening and memorable novel.” —Mark Alpert, author of Extinction

286 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 21 reviews.

            


 

Free today!

A New Prospect: A Sam Jenkins Mystery, by Wayne Zurl. (Still free?)

“This book was a quick and pleasant read. The writing is straightforward and clear, with very few errors. Police Chief Sam Jenkins tells of his first week or so back on the job in a small Tennessee town, after having been retired for more than a decade, from New York. I recommend this book. As to a whole series of Sam Jenkins books — maybe not… I may prefer this style of writing only for occasional palate cleansing.” — Amazon Reviewer

Sam Jenkins never thought about being a fish out of water during the years he spent solving crimes in New York. But things change, and after retiring to Tennessee, he gets that feeling. Jenkins becomes a cop again and is thrown headlong into a murder investigation and a steaming kettle of fish, down-home style.

In true Jenkins style, Sam turns common police practice on its ear to insure an innocent man doesn’t fall prey to an imperfect system and the guilty party receives appropriate justice.

275 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 76 reviews.

            


“Like” our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *