Book Discovery Day! (Tuesday February 13)

It’s Book Discovery Day! Twice a week we bring you a selection of books that are newly-published, or that have been overlooked.

Every great book was once a hidden gem. Browse through the books below and start your own discovery!


Book Discovery – newly-published and overlooked books!


ARCANUM ASTRAY: The Remarkable Adventures of Master Professor Lucius k. Henry, S.M.*: Book One – MAGIC IS DISAPPEARING!, by Edmund A.M. Batara
From the Author of The Accidental Archmage Series. Excerpt below.

An alternate history. With fantasy and magic spicing the mix.

A battle won. A Duke victorious. History changed with one missed deadly blow.

Three hundred years after winning the decisive Battle of Nancy, the royal house of Charles the Bold had turned a dukedom into an Empire.

That’s the world of Master Professor Lucius Henry. High Mage of the Order of the Sacrum Abies. Summus Magister. High Professor-at-Large of the Imperial University of Learning, the elite institution of higher magical education in the Empire of Burgundy.

Magical knowledge had flourished and evolved for more than three hundred years. A tool, for better…

Born This Way, by Tammy Ferebee
Being yourself should never come at this price.

Joseph is the son anyone would wish to have—anyone except his pastor father, that is. Joseph is gay, and where he comes from, his sexual orientation makes him a pariah. Tormented by the incorrigible denizens of his unprogressive Southern town, Joseph finds himself desperate for support from other members of the LGBT community. He turns to the internet with the hope of finding it, and, unexpectedly, Joseph finds more. Bruce.

An unlikely virtual friendship between Joseph and Bruce grows into something more, leading to a seemingly fated meeting. Joseph’s future suddenly looks brighter than ever, but no one could’ve ever predicted what would transpire after the two fina…

Cyborg (The Deep Wide Black Book 1), by JCH Rigby
A military science fiction thriller portraying a dystopian future of corporation greed, exploitation and deadly secrets.

It started as just another assignment.

Invited by big-hitting corporation ARTOK, combat journalist David Chambers, is visiting the planet Parnassus to report on the ‘Human Enhancement Programme’ when he witnesses the unthinkable, a crash site of an alien ship.

The huge structure contained alien bodies and, more importantly, alien technology, but, before Chambers could digest the scene, a rival corporation invades, and Chambers barely escapes with his life.

Chambers retreats to the safety of his habitat of Orchard accompanied by Richter…

They Called Me Margaret, by Florence Osmund
Margaret Manning has spent the better part of her life conforming to the expectations of other people—first her father, then her husband. To break from this tradition, she becomes a writer of cozy mysteries and is in the process of living out her dream of opening her own bookstore—The Indie Book Nook—featuring self-published authors. But when she perceives her husband is behaving similarly to some of the unscrupulous characters in her books, she fears that she will lose him or—maybe even worse—that she is losing her mind.

While abandonment is nothing new to Margaret—she hasn’t seen or heard from her mother since she was six years old—the fear of losing her husband is devastating. As she struggles to find the stre…

Hotel Constellation: Notes from America’s Secret War in Laos, by David L. Haase
It’s 1970. War rages in Viet Nam, while intense, sometimes violent protests against it rage at home. Impelled to test his courage against that of his WWII hero father, college student David L. Haase arranges to study at the Buddhist University in Saigon. Detained on arrival and quickly deported from Viet-Nam, he searches for a way to get back in.

Instead, he stumbles into the secret CIA war next door in Laos. For the next two years, he witnesses the unraveling of the American politico-military strategy, the decimation of a primitive hill tribe people, and the destruction of a tiny jungle kingdom, all of which he laboriously transcribes in limp, lined school notebooks each day. Those handwritten notes became this memoir of a yo…

Echoes From The Water: (A Dangerous Waters Thriller Series: Book One), by David Banner
Brandon Waters had no interest in following in his parents’ footsteps.

Son of two of the greatest detectives Florida had even seen, Brandon Waters wanted no part of the dangerous and transient lifestyle he grew up around. That feeling only intensified when his parents disappeared suddenly, leaving him to care for his little brother on the mean sun-soaked streets of Miami.

Now ten years later, Brandon’s little brother is fingered for a murder he knows he couldn’t have committed. To save Micah from the death penalty, Brandon will be forced to dive into the case that stole his parents from him, face down the dangers they couldn’t, and unravel the sort of mystery that could only thrive in the swamps of Florida. <b…

Missing Person: The Beginning, by James Hunt
The small town of Deville, Washington holds a population of less than ten thousand people. In addition to its annual fall cider festival, it also boasts one of the lowest crime rates in the state. It’s an idyllic little town, where people escape the big city to enjoy nature. For Chase Grant, it was a fresh start, a new beginning. But when the family down the street disappears, Grant is forced to confront a past that he had thought he’d left behind.
The Daughter: A gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, by Lucy Dawson
‘Gripped me and didn’t let go until the wickedly twisted ending.’ Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You. A heartbreaking and unputdownable psychological thriller perfect for fans of B A Paris, K.L. Slater and The Girl on the Train.

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone’s determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the pas…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *